January 21st, 2010, 2:12 PM
News & Releases

New Jersey joins 13 other U.S. states that allow the use of medical marijuana. The New Jersey Senate and Assembly recently passed Senate Bill 119 that allows the drug marijuana to be used for the treatment of pain or other symptoms associated with certain debilitating medical conditions. Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Washington and Montana all allow the use of medical marijuana, and in Arizona doctors are permitted to prescribe marijuana. The "Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act" now awaits the Governors approval.

Employers should note that Section 10 of the Bill reads, "Nothing in this act shall be construed to require a government medical assistance program or private health insurer to reimburse a person for costs associated with the medical use of marijuana, or an employer to accommodate the medical use of marijuana in any workplace."

Roseanne Scotti, director of Drug Policy Alliance New Jersey said, "We want to thank the legislature for doing the right thing and passing the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act." Scotti concluded, "This legislation will provide relief and legal protection for seriously ill patients and their families across New Jersey."

Return to all News & Releases